Knowing about Diamond

Knowing about Diamond

Adámas means indestructible in Greek. Diamonds are the world's oldest jewels and the toughest raw materials, and they're also utilised for jewelry. Diamonds are made up of crystalline carbon that formed millions of years ago in a melting pot of incandescent lava at a depth of 150-200 km, under enormous heat (around 1,250°) and high pressure (40-60 atmospheres). The raw crystals were thrown to the surface by volcanic explosions. The majority of diamonds are more than 100 million years old.

4Cs of the Diamond


The unit of weight by which a diamond is measured. 1 carat is one fifth of a gram (0.2 g). A 1-carat diamond weighs 100 points. Ct is the abbreviation of the carat.

Diamond Cut

Diamonds in this range are on the top of all grade settings and very rare due to the exquisite interplay of their facets and light. Among all the diamond categories, these diamonds have the best light reflection and shine.

Diamond Cut Signature

The highest cut grade is conferred to diamonds in this range. The interplay of facets in a diamond creates a nice balance and results in fire and brilliance.

Diamond Cut Ideal

Diamonds in this range produce less fire and sparkle as compared to the ideal cut diamonds and it produces little darkness.

Diamond Cut Very Good

Diamonds in this range reflect limited light and brilliance.

Diamond Cut Good

Diamond Clarity

This clarity scale is considered from flawless to internally flawless. These diamonds do not include any inclusions. Internally flawless diamonds may only contain faint external blemishes, which is removable by repolishing. Flawless and Internally Flawless diamonds are very rare.

Diamond Clarity FL - IF

Diamonds with this clarity may contain very slight inclusions, that are extremely hard to detect under a 10X magnification mirror and cannot be seen with naked-eye.

Diamond Clarity VVS1 - VVS2

Diamonds with this clarity contain very slight inclusions that can be seen under a 10X magnification mirror and are not noticeable with naked-eye.

Diamond Clarity VS1 - VS2

Diamonds in this clarity group include slight inclusions that can be detected under 10X magnification mirror.

Diamond Clarity SI1 - SI2

Diamonds contain slight inclusions, are noticeable under graded 10X magnification and visible to the naked-eye under close examination.

Diamond Clarity I1

Diamonds contain obvious inclusions that may affect the brilliance of the diamonds. Inclusions on these diamonds are visible to naked-eyes.

Diamond Clarity I2 - I3

Diamond Colour

The best white and colourless diamonds are D diamonds, which are the rarest colour grades and have the greatest value.

Diamond Colour D

E diamonds are the second highest colour grade in “colourless” scale. E diamonds are referred as rare white and exceptionally fine.

Diamond Colour E

F diamonds are at the last grade of “colourless” scale and are considered rare and fine white diamonds.

Diamond Colour F

G diamonds are on the first place to “near colourless” scale; are very valuable. They contain slight traces of white colour.

Diamond Colour G

H diamonds are on the “near colourless” scale and slightly coloured. The colour on the H diamonds can only be detected when compared with other colourless diamonds.

Diamond Colour H

I diamonds are slightly tinted and are considered as “near colourless”. A slight colour on the I diamonds can be detected.

Diamond Colour I

J diamonds are considered as on the last scale of “near colourless” grade. The slight white colour of J diamonds can be detected.

Diamond Colour J

K-Z grade diamonds are considered as slightly coloured to coloured diamonds; from light yellow to yellow.

Diamond Colour KZ

What is Diamond Certificate?

Design Your Product

Diamonds are natural stones and each diamond comes in unique internal and external characteristics. In addition to its size and colour, birthmarks inside the diamond also determine its characteristics. The value of a diamond is based on the combination of these qualities.

The four important characteristics that are used to classify a diamond are known as the “4Cs of the diamond”: Colour, Clarity, Cut and Carat. These characteristics are evaluated by diamond professionals and often documented in detail. This document is called grading report or diamond certificate. Diamond certificates are important as they show the quality and the value of the diamond on your jewellery.

GL Certified Diamonds

Design Your Product

All GL diamonds are carefully selected from fully credible diamond suppliers in the participant-countries of the Kimberley Process.GL certified diamonds are in H Colour, VS clarity and Very Good cut. GLAMIRA provides GIA certified diamonds as well as GL certified diamonds.

GIA Certified Diamonds

Design Your Product

There are many local and international diamond grading institutes that provide diamond certificates such as GIA, HRD, IGI, AGS, etc. GIA (Gemological Institute of America), a nonprofit institute in the field of gemology, is the most widely known and respected diamond grading institute in the world.GLAMIRA gives you a choice of ordering your product with a GIA certified diamond, where you can customise the colour, clarity and cut of the diamond to be used on your setting.